Energy Committee 2014

Mission Statement: The Town of Cornish takes local steps to save energy and reduce greenhouse gas emissions.

2014 was a successful year for the Energy Committee (CEC) because it was selected as one of five communities participating in the very first round of Solarize Upper Valley. Cornish and Plainfield worked together with Vital Communities on a project to competitively install solar photovoltaic (PV). We called ourselves Cornish-Plainfield Solarize. The emphasis was on PV (electricity) roof-mount installations. The installing company chosen through a bid process was Solar Source. The competitive aspect of the program was to reach a goal of 61 kW in order to reach the lowest price/kW Tier of \$3.40/Watt. The two towns together ended the program reaching Tier 4 and installing PV in 33 households over the summer for a total of 180 kW. As a result of our success, Solar Source awarded us by funding an electric vehicle charging station which is located at Anne's Plainfield Country Convenience Store, 1190 Rt. 12A in Plainfield. Joanna Sharf will do the wiring and Bill Cable will make the enclosure for it.

The CEC also held a public discussion about community net metering, which could make it possible for residents who do not have optimal access to solar power, to think about joining together with other households who do have good solar access. This is an ongoing discussion.

The Energy Committee would like to thank the selectboard that supported Solarize and extend congratulations to the townspeople for being part of this engagement. What steps would we like to take next? Education about the No-Idling policy may be helpful since the greatest energy use (70%) has been fuel used by town vehicles which includes those of the police department and for road maintenance. Once again, the CEC had visible presence at Town Meeting 2014 with a poster display showing the town's energy use data. Please feel welcome to contact one of the members of our committee with any suggestions you may have to offer. Consider joining us.

Respectfully submitted,

Mary Boyle (Chair), William Cable, George Edson, Janice Orion, Pat Pinkson-Burke, Joanna Sharf and Nancy Wightman.

